Skip to main content

We use cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're OK with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Read more >>

Energize Connecticut partners Eversource, The United Illuminating Company (UI), Connecticut Natural Gas, and Southern Connecticut Gas announced the winners of the 12th annual eesmarts™ Student Contest during a special ceremony held today at the State Capitol.

Forty-one out of more than 1,100 Connecticut students, grades K-12 and college, were recognized for their winning projects about energy efficiency, renewable energy and sustainability.

The ceremony attracted more than 150 students, parents, teachers, elected officials, and clean energy supporters from across the state in celebration of the students’ hard work.

Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection energy policy chief Tracy Babbidge was the keynote speaker, and NBC Connecticut anchor Todd Piro served as Master of Ceremonies.

“Programs like the eesmarts Student Contest highlight Connecticut as a leader in clean energy and energy efficiency, and garner national recognition and attention for our state,” said Babbidge. “By educating our students on the importance of energy efficiency and sustainability, we ensure a legacy of environmentally-conscious thinking and advocacy, which will benefit our state and nation for years to come.”

Representing 22 cities and towns across Connecticut, the 41 winners included:


First: Lily Sabino, West Hartford

Second: Nathaniel Moorcroft, Hebron

Third: Ian Bennett, Torrington

First Grade

First: Fisnik Hasani, North Franklin

Second: Connor Bienkowski, Torrington

Third: Aniya Medina, Bridgeport

Second Grade

First: Jason Latorilla, Waterbury

Second: Colton Andrews, Manchester

Third: Skyla Ogurick-Mendez, Waterbury

Third Grade

First: Om Brown, Hampton

Second: Evan Casine, Trumbull

Third: Sydney Huttner, West Hartford

Fourth Grade

First: Abigail DeJonghe, West Haven

Second: Talia Leshem, West Hartford

Third: Mujtaba Ather, Hamden

Fifth Grade

First: Nora Brown, Ashford

Second: Hannah Tuxbury, Wallingford

Third: Leah Williams, West Hartford

Sixth Grade

First: Sophia Nappi, Cheshire

Second: Hannah Trocchi, Marlborough

Third: Ryan Lauer, Torrington

Seventh Grade

First: Victoria Boustani, West Hartford

Second: Lydia Bird, Torrington

Third: Faiz Farooqui, Hamden

Eighth Grade

First: Angelina Laudano, Durham

Second: Mariam Ghaloo, Darien

Third: Brandon Sykes, Torrington

High School: Grades 9-11

First: Katlyn Campbell, Katherine Jarka, Nathaniel Savino, Paige Gnazzo, Amaria Yancey – Canton

Second: Tatianna McQuay-Ward, Hunter Wood – Groton

Third: Garrett Beaulieu, Newington

High School: Grade 12

First: Collin Stamm, Bloomfield

Second: Lena White, Jules Davis – New Fairfield

Third: Hannah Meikle, Tolland


First: Deborah Stauffer, Willimantic

Second: Anthony J. Piccione, Willimantic



New to the contest this year was the college “Wright the World” category and a Grade 12 category. College students, enrolled in a two or four year college or university in Connecticut, were invited to write a 25-30 minute play supporting the eesmarts curriculum and mission.


Students in grades K-8 answered grade-level specific prompts in the form of a poster (Grades K-2), narrative (Grade 3), news article (Grade 4), book review (Grade 5), essay (Grade 6), speech (Grade 7), or public service announcement (Grade 8). Students in Grades 9-11 competed in the community service-learning project award category, which asked students to propose a community-based project to address an energy-related issue. Students in Grade 12 created a persuasive image that advocated for energy conservation, alternate energy source or addressed an environmental concern.


For more information on the student contest and the eesmarts program, please visit


About Energize Connecticut


Energize Connecticut helps you save money and use clean energy. It is an initiative of the Energy Efficiency Fund, the Connecticut Green Bank, the State, and your local electric and gas utilities, with funding from a charge on customer energy bills. Information on energy-saving programs can be found at or by calling 1.877.WISE.USE.